My Winter Reading

All my life, I have loved to read, especially before going to bed.  But marriage ruined that. David gets in bed and he instantly falls asleep, so I also fell into that pattern.  Until now.  Over the last nine months, I have slowly gotten David into the habit of reading before bed also.  I love it.  I think he does too.  While he enjoys reading photography and gadget blogs, I’ve been delving into novels.  Here are my most recent two books, both of which were incredible.

The Reluctant Fundamentalist (Mohsin Hamid): This book is about a Muslim from Pakistan who has come to America to study at Princeton.  The book begins as he is offered a really great job in New York City. Shortly after this 9/11 happens.  It gives a really interesting insight into what life might feel like to a Muslim living in New York just after 9/11.  The way the story is told is what makes it so intriguing.  It is a one-sided conversation between the Muslim main character and an unknown listener.  If you read it give me a call because I would love to know how you think it really ends.

The Forgotten Garden (Kate Morton) : I LOVED this book!  Seriously. I started it on the flight home for Christmas and probably would have finished in a couple days, except I was hanging out with family and friends.  This story is also inventively told from multiple perspectives and multiple different time periods.  It’s a little bit mystery, a little bit love story, a little bit historical fiction.  I fell in love with the characters and honestly missed them a little once I finished the book.

Now I’ve started the book Little Bee. More on that to come in future posts.

2 thoughts on “My Winter Reading

  1. Sarah! I am just catching up on your blog. Guess what? You and I were reading The Forgotten Garden at the SAME TIME. Craziness. And I loved it.

Leave a Reply

