crochet bootcamp

Halfway through crochet class, and here is my progress:

Crochet class has really turned into crochet bootcamp.  Tuesday, not kidding, I crocheted at class (10-12:30), then after running errands and and making dinner, I crocheted while the Ratatouille cooked, then at Home Depot, and then for two hours after we returned home.  When we went to bed I still wasn’t finished with the homework and had half an hour left of work in the morning.  So you can see why I didn’t post yesterday.  Today I had some free time in the afternoon so I finished early.  It got me thinking about what I’ll work on after the class is finished.  Here are my top four project ideas.  Thoughts or other ideas…

Beautiful Crocheted Hangers:

From Dottie Angel.

Crocheted Placements:

From Purlbee.

Another Potholder:

From a German website.  Thankfully someone translated it into English.

Peek-A-Boo Pillow:

From Knitting Loves Crochet.  Right now this is slightly too advanced, but perhaps in a few months.

weekly csa round-up

wk 6 share: radishes, arugula, carrots, sungold tomatoes, tomatoes, lettuce, green beans, zucchini, jalapeno, eggplant, corn, green peppers, herbs

It’s getting easier and easier to eat vegetables.  Of course this week, we had my mom’s help and then took some with us down to Connecticut when we visited friends.

Tuesday: Steak, Beet Salad (from my friend Mia), and green salad
veggies eaten: beets, lettuce, cucumber, green pepper, carrots

Thursday: Stuffed Green Peppers (from The New Best Recipe), Green Salad
 veggies eaten: green pepper,  tomato, lettuce, corn, green pepper
comment: in theory these sound really good, but this recipe was a little bland.

Saturday: Zucchini, Tomato, and Mozzarella Sandwiches (created by my friend TJ), Fish Tacos, Corn, Salsa (created by my friend Hannah)
veggies eaten: zucchini, tomato, onion, jalapeno, cilantro, corn
comments: everything was delicious.  The sandwiches were grilled zucchini, with fresh sliced tomato, homemade pesto, mozzarella, balsamic vinegar, and toasted bread.  I really want to try to replicate this, especially for a weekend lunch.

Monday: Chicken, Potato Gruyere Gratin
veggies eaten: potatoes
comments: The potato gratin was great and fairly quick, but it was meant to go with this lamb dish, but our lamb went bad while we were out of town so we had to substitute chicken.

Recipe of the Week: TJ’s Zucchini and Tomato Sandwiches